1905 · metro · moscow · street people

Metro 1905: another Moscow street person

This babushka, or grandma, or older lady, is another Moscow street person (1, 2). She takes up the same place, as in , she always sits in the same place by the Benetton / Sisley, and is there all day.

I need to get a better picture of her card that she is holding up, but it probably says something like my daughter died, need help with burial costs or God is good, give me enough to buy bread.

I watched one time, and I calculated that she probably makes around 600 rubles an hour, or about $10. And while that doesn’t seem like much, it is in line with actually having a job, and sometimes it is even better.

I am guessing here, but she prob also has her own apartment and a Moscow pension, which should come out to around 25,000 rub a month, or roughly $450 a month.

I’ll take a closer look at her card the next time I walk by and update accordingly.

Leave a comment